The Three Stages of Realization
Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi
Identification, Contemplation, Comprehension

Now the reason that it is more difficult to realize than to simply understand is this - there are actually three stages of learning and the ego loves the first stage and takes it as the be-all and end-all of learning. So in order to aid you in grasping the actual "Reality" of this concept (which is the point of healing), it is greatly helpful to understand the actual Mechanics of Learning - the three levels of knowledge and knowing.

So a little digression...

On "Getting It" - Discovering A New Reality

The Message

My philosophy is this - if you're not getting it ("the Message") then it's possible there is static in your communication system. If you would like the static cleared you must (with clear purpose) call on someone with a clear system to help you locate (identify) the source(s) of your static. By the "Message" I mean the "Reality" of Surrender, not just the concept.
I mean the Physical and Perceptual Benefit, which, in order to realize, requires some preliminaries.

Understanding the Learning Process that Leads to Realization

There are three phases to the completion of the learning process, and this is taught, if sought, in most of the world philosophies. In Sanskrit the understanding of this process of comprehension is called Samyama - the power of all(-inclusiveness). In Arabic "Iqan" or Certitude.

Understand that comprehension by definition implies all-including, as in nothing left out, and is therefore not complete until opposites (all oppositions) are included/reconciled, otherwise it is partial comprehension, or partiality.

Pure comprehension, or the completion of the learning process, is called Samadhi (bliss(ful)/satisfaction), in Arabic (ana-al) Haqq or realization. This genuine comprehension is the root core of happiness and healthy living, and is our innate state, without confusion. In Arabic this is expressed as "Islam ad-dinul fitrah", or, "True Surrender is the Way/Debt of Nature".

This comprehension is attained as the third and final stage of a three part learning process, however long or short that may be. This finality, or completion of comprehension, is referred to in Sufi terminology as "haqqul yaqin", the realization of certainty, the "got it!"

The Three Stages of Realization
Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi
Identification, Contemplation, Comprehension

The first stage of the process of learning/comprehension is to identify or objectify that which you wish to comprehend. This in itself is not always easy because of our thinking, but complicating the procedure is the illusion that we know what it is we want or do not know. Add to that the ego satisfying illusion that discovery is knowledge.

True Discovery is difficult, and that's why it is half the battle. Discovery might be compared in Arabic to "`Ilmul Yaqin", or hearing about a knowledge of which you wish to learn more. The Power of the mind used and developed for the accomplishment of this stage is known in Sanskrit as Dharana (concentration, focus, search, contact, discovery, identification), and the accomplishment is achieved by a combination of pure intent and asking the right questions.


The second stage of realization  is contemplation or absorption. This is the stage of actually doing the work necessary to complete understanding. It requires the devlopment of a sufficiency of dedication, determination and commitment, and a continued use and development of the Powers of Dharana, focus of attention or concentration. In Sanskrit this work and power of contemplation is called Dhyana. It might be likened to `Ainul Yaqin, or visual connection, you "got it in your sights", so to speak. "Not letting go until I get it all". "Working on it".

You might notice that the development of each one of these powers of the stages of process requires the use of the entire process - identification, contemplation and comprehension.

And, as I'm sure you have noticed, when your focus of attention, concentration and contemplation upon your chosen studies have done their job and your study has run its course and all the requisites have been met, you are finally rewarded with the satisfaction of complete comprehension, which results in a final satisfaction, called Samadhi, or Bliss.

In Healing, the completion of this process of self discovery, concentration and comprehension is a totally visceral sensation and the foundation of perfect health. Hence it is referred to as Bliss. It is the completion of our Surrender and of the process of our desired absorption in God.

In study, it is the stage at which one Knows that one has digested the topic completely, no longer feels ignorant of it in any aspect, and is completely free and ready to move on to the next challenge. This is the equivalent of Haqq ul Yaqin.

In the matters of life it is considered to be the Supreme accomplishment.